Learn about the planets of our Solar System

The planets are a group of celestial bodies that orbit stars, and in our solar system, they orbit the Sun. There are eight recognized planets in our solar system, categorized into two main groups: the inner rocky planets (Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars) and the outer gas giant planets (Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune). Here is some information about each of the planets:

Inner Rocky Planets

Closest to the Sun, Mercury is a small and rocky planet with extreme temperature variations between its day and night sides. It has little to no atmosphere.


Similar in size and composition to Earth, Venus has a thick, toxic atmosphere composed mainly of carbon dioxide. It experiences a runaway greenhouse effect, making it one of the hottest planets in our solar system.


Our home planet, Earth is the only known celestial body to support life. It has a diverse environment with oceans, continents, and a breathable atmosphere.


Often called the "Red Planet" due to its reddish appearance, Mars has a thin atmosphere and is known for its surface features, including the largest volcano (Olympus Mons) and the longest canyon (Valles Marineris) in the solar system.

Outer Gas Giant Planets

The largest planet in our solar system, Jupiter is a gas giant composed mostly of hydrogen and helium. It has a strong magnetic field, a system of rings, and a large number of moons, including the four largest known as the Galilean moons.


Known for its stunning ring system, Saturn is another gas giant with a composition similar to Jupiter. Its rings are made up of particles of ice and rock.


Uranus is an ice giant, primarily composed of water, methane, and ammonia. It is unique among the planets in our solar system for its tilted axis of rotation, causing it to rotate on its side.


The farthest planet from the Sun, Neptune is another ice giant. It has a dynamic atmosphere with high-speed winds and a dark storm system known as the Great Dark Spot. Neptune also has a system of rings and a set of moons, including Triton.

You can check the planets positions today.

Other things in our solar system

In addition to these eight planets, our solar system also contains dwarf planets, asteroids, comets, and other small celestial bodies. The study of these planets provides valuable insights into the formation and evolution of our solar system and can help scientists understand the conditions necessary for life. Planetary exploration missions, both robotic and, in the future, human, continue to contribute to our knowledge of these fascinating worlds.